PDA

View Full Version : M-tac breakin

moonshot
05-25-12, 12:56
I have been using Com-tac's C-tac holster for several months and I am quite happy with it. The one complaint I have is that it is not too comfortable next to bare skin, so I am looking for a holster for those times when the weather prevents me from wearing two shirts (one tucked in between the holster and me and one untucked covering garment).

Many have recommended the M-tac, so I recently ordered one. It is very comfortable and solves the problem of one-shirt wear, but I notice that the gun is difficult to both re-holster and draw.

In order to prevent my pants from falling, I need to have my belt fairly tight. With the soft leather backing on the M-tac, the tight belt causes the holster shell to compress. This makes draw difficult. The holster (and now my pants) want to get pulled up as I draw the gun, slowing me down and generally getting in the way.

Re-holster is also slow. It's now better two-handed (which I don't like) as well as requiring me to place my thumb over the slide to help ensure it does not ride back as I push the frame into the holster.

i have been cautioned against placing mole skin on the back of my C-tac as it doesn't work too well - far less comfortable than the M-tac and it doesn't stick.

Bottom line - the M-tac is to tight when worn as I need it. My question for you all here - does this get better as the holster breaks-in, or will I be faced with this problem to some extent no matter how long I wear it?

If break in will fix it, I'll keep it and give it a go. If not, I'll return to Com-tac.

Thanks.

glockeyed
05-25-12, 13:04
have you played with the tension screws at all?

what model gun? or how heavy of a gun are wearing? i carry a glock 30 in an mtac. even if i snug up my belt tight i can still draw it.

however i did buy their 2 '0 clock once for a kahr mk9, and basicly had the same problem. no matter what tension i set once it was IWB the pistol was stuck.

moonshot