PDA

View Full Version : New Member--New COLT

skipper49
01-13-08, 15:03
I've been hanging around here for a couple of months, just listening and learning. I've owned two Bushmasters for several years and have been very happy with them. However, I don't run them as hard as many of you fellows do.
One night recently, after reading yet another post about Bushmaster problems, I told my wife that I was going the next day and donate both of mine to Good Will !:)
I have been wanting an A2, 20", w/FH, but also would like to have a 1/7 bbl.
I had fully intended on just getting a 1/9 Bushy in that configuration, that is ,until I ran into you guys.
I'm glad I waited! Yesterday I bought a Colt model 6601, 20', A2, w/FH. The serial number puts it around 1992, and it is unfired in it's original box.
What do you guys think about this particular model? Do I need to do anything to make it "grab ready"?
Pardon me if I got too wordy, but even though I'm an old codger, I can still get excited over a new gun. Hope that never changes.
What think ye about my rifle?
Regards,
Skip

Jay Cunningham
01-13-08, 15:21
Welcome to M4C.

Your Colt model 6601 is no doubt a fine rifle, but most here would probably classify it as a match rifle. Not that it couldn't be pressed into service for a fight, but the 20" guns are a bit unweildy compared to the 16" models.

When you say "grab ready", what do you mean? I am assuming you mean bump-in-the-night type thing... Are you willing to accessorize your rifle, or do you prefer to keep it as close to stock as possible?

markm
01-13-08, 16:05
Can't go wrong with a 20 incher. It has it's limitations due to size, but I wouldn't be without a 20 incher in my collection.

skipper49
01-13-08, 18:31
"Grab ready" Yes, to me that means "bump in the night".
I already had a carbine(that I like a lot) and it is certainly is a good bit handier. I just wanted a full size rifle in my favorite platform(AR), although I have a 24" Bushmaster.