PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on a 300 BLK SBR Suppressed build

87seph
06-01-12, 12:26
I am pursuing a 300 BLK suppressed SBR (AR platform). However, this is my first build, so I could use some advice on how to mitigate the costs while retaining reliability.

It appears that I am legally able to hunt deer with a suppressed SBR in my state, so that will be a single use. Another is home defense as well as enjoyable range time.

Timing is not an issue, I can wait as long as needed for the tax stamps, I just want to do it right.

Given the available options on the market, would it be better to build it in macro or micro pieces? I figure I can find a lower locally, and then either buy an entire upper, or piece it together.

I appreciate the help,
-Seph

BC98
06-01-12, 14:48
If you do not currently have a registered SBR (or pistol) lower, then build the lower and get your tax stamp. Once tax stamp is received, build your upper. If you must buy any upper parts prior to to receiving the stamp, buy everything except the barrel.

While constructive intent is a pretty gray area, I prefer to err on the side of caution with the ATF.

ETA: Form 1 approvals are running between 6 and 7 months wait time right now, I believe. So if this is something you want to do, I would recommend submitting your paperwork into the ATF soon to meet your deadline.

Quiet Riot
06-01-12, 20:52
It's easy enough to build your lower as a pistol first, so you can build and use your upper while you wait for your stamp.

darr3239
06-01-12, 21:40
Timing is not an issue, so long as I can finish the build within the first few months of 2013.

FYI, timing is the issue. Getting a tax stamp back from the Feds is running at least six months now, from the time the package of paperwork is mailed to them.

Sid Post
06-02-12, 10:58