PDA

View Full Version : Carrier tilt blues :( I need help from YOU!

Nahway
06-03-12, 18:18
I have a Bushmaster gas piston... After 200 rounds shot through, I am noticing enough 'carrier tilt' to make me concerned.

What is the 100% worst case scenario with Carrier tilt? It destroys my lower reciever threads and I'll never be able to remove the buffer tube?

Is there a good way to minimize carrier tilt? Anything other than heavy oil and lubing in that area before shooting?

Also (sorry for a million questions), is there an aftermarket AR15 buffer assembly that I can buy that solves this problem? I know some independent people used to sell individually made custom buffers (that Seth guy) that worked awesome. Is there a legit established company that offers anti-tilt buffer assemblies that work?

All help appreciated.

J_Dub_503
06-03-12, 18:36
Your best option would be to pawn it off to someone else (with full disclosure of the problem) and let them deal with it. If the buffer tube is in sore shape you might want to replace it, purely for aesthetics, and fund yourself a non commercial grade AR.

Casull
06-03-12, 18:42
Contact Bushmaster to see what they do about it. That may be the cheapest way to get the ordeal squared away. Although, your gun isn't a quality piece either, sorry to say.

If you want to fix it there are Anti-tilt buffers out there, although I don't know anything about how well they work. There also are bolts on the market made to prevent the tilt but with how piston ARs are you'll find they all have somewhat proprietary parts; the bolts you might find may not work properly.

The bushmaster looks like an Adams Arms style piston. Does your bolt have skis on the back like this one? http://www.adamsarms.net/details.asp?sku=ASY%20Bolt%20Carrier

Personally I'd get rid of it and buy a BCM or Colt...

VIP3R 237
06-03-12, 18:45
If you want to keep this rifle here is a way to help alleviate your issues.

http://primaryweapons.com/store/m/viewprd.asp