PDA

View Full Version : CMC Trigger = GREAT

Spot
06-03-12, 21:41
Bought an LMT Defender 2000 AR-15 in 5.56mm back in March of this year. Great rifle, solid quality. But, I hated the trigger. Granted, I am new to the AR-15, and maybe a heavy, long, gritty, creepy trigger is just fine for the majority of soldiers in harm's way, but I just hated the feel of it from day one.

Took the trigger group out, cleaned & lubricated it really well, reinstalled it, boosted the trigger a half a million times (poor man's trigger job), and then cleaned & lubed it again. Trigger was better but not by much. Still pretty rough by any standard. Kinda made the rifle feel cheap, even though I know it's very well-made overall.

Did a little research, and decided on a CMC single stage trigger group with a 3.5 pound pull and a curved trigger(#CMC91501). Only problem was that, all the places that sold them for the best price were always out of stock. Day after day, week after week, I kept checking but no love. Finally, I got super lucky when Stanley at HamLund Tactical agreed to sell me one that he had set aside for a build. Total cost, $153.99 with no tax and including free shipping to my door.

Well, all I can say is that this trigger is buttery-smooth and perfectly controllable. My brain makes the decision to fire, and the bullet is automatically on it's way to the bullseye. . . as natural as blinking your eye. Before I installed this trigger, I struggled to make precision shots with this rifle. Now the trigger is damnear as nice as my Les Baer 1911 and my tricked-out CZ SP-01 racegun. The CZ actually came with a trigger just as horrible as the LMT did, and it ended up costing me a pretty penny to bring it up to this level (not to mention the downtime of sending it out and waiting for the work). . . but the CMC trigger was downright cheap, and installation took less than 5 minutes from start to finish.