PDA

View Full Version : Stuck Barrel Nut

LongRider
06-23-12, 23:24
I have a Bushmaster carbine with the welded on flash suppressor and am trying to remove the barrel to install a free float railed hand gaurd but the barrel nut appears to be stuck. I am using Bushmaster's Barrel Vise Jaw Blocks to hold the barrel and Armorer's Barrel Wrench but the barrel spins in the barrel vise when I try to remove the nut. It is as if the nut is welded on. If I tighten the vise on the barrel any tighter I am afraid I will start to crush the barrel. I have already broken one vise tightening it down on the barrel. What the hell am I doing wrong am I missing something?

Please no BS about the Bushmaster or I should have bought a better AR, it is what I have and what I am working on. Any help with getting this freaking nut loose would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

SpankMonkey
06-23-12, 23:41
Wrap the barrel in some rough leather, then reinsert into barrel vise jaws and close in vise.

Good luck.

az doug
06-23-12, 23:41
You will need an upper receiver action block or a barrel extension torque tool. (Let me know if by some chance you live in the Phoenix/Valley area of AZ as I have both)

You will not crush your barrel with the barrel jaw blocks, but yes you can break a vise by over tightening it.

Another possibility is a free float tube that does not require you to remove the barrel nut. Midwest Industries 2 piece and the Samson Evolution come to mind. There are others.

http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=22385/Product/AR-15-M16-UPPER-RECEIVER-ACTION-BLOCK

ETA: You can also wrap you barrel in a thin lead sheet and/or use rosin to try and keep it from slipping. I gave up on barrel blocks except for very limited uses. At that point I normally use a real barrel vise mounted to the floor.

http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=27452/Product/AR-15-M16-BARREL-EXTENSION-TORQUE-TOOL

LongRider
06-24-12, 01:54