PDA

View Full Version : Looking for first hand info on different 12" FSP rails.

ac130usnsr
07-06-12, 08:28
I am currently looking for a Front Sight Pocket 12" carbine rail.

Rail use will be for a light forward of the FSB at the 12 o'clock position, VFG and QD attachment point for sling.

I am familiar with the DD Omega X (have a DD M4V3) and like how thin it is.

I have been looking at other rails though and was hoping to get some feedback based on personal experience.

Obvious first choices would be DD Lite/Omega X/RIS II or Centurion C4 FSP. However, price being a factor, the current options I am considering are the MI MCTAR-20X G2 and Troy MRF-CX. I can get either one for ~$180, including shipping.

I really like the Troy TRX-E 15" I have, but I have zero firsthand knowledge of any MI products.

How do those two compare to my first choices? Are my first choices really $200 better?

I know the Troy is a hefty 20 oz, so it is lower on my list than the MI, which weighs in at the same 14.2 oz as the C4 FSP and 2 oz lighter than the DD Omega X/RIS II, but is a little on the fat side in width.

So, are the Troy or MI up to the task on a hard use rifle? Or would one of my top choices be better ($200 better, not potential resale or bragging rights)?

If so please explain as I am willing to wait if there really is a tangible/functional benefit.

SteadyUp
07-06-12, 09:50
Some searching of the site would be in order, as you're really asking us to make a decision that only you can decide.

My experience with FSP rails has includes the DD Omega X and the DD M4 versions. Between the two, I preferred the Omega X because it includes QD sling attachment points.