PDA

View Full Version : Please Forgive Me...

FF_Turkish
07-08-12, 10:39
...for yet another "what should I get thread"

I have done a lot of exhaustive research online and looked at the main "FAQ" and "Which One Should I Buy" topics. I have not yet actually gone to my local arms dealer and played with the sights so that is something I know I still need to do. The trouble I am having is settling on a final set-up, once I have a set-up in mind then I will narrow down to brands, type, etc. With all the stuff on here it is sometimes hard to sort through the chaff and find the info you are looking for, so I am posting today to get a more tailored response. If I piss anybody off by looking for a little help..."Lighten up Francis."

BACKGROUND: Purchased my first AR approx 1 wk ago. Colt 6920 Socom (I think I made the right choice, but I don't want this to turn into a pro-Colt/anti-Colt thread). I have very little to no experience/education with optics despite all of the research I have done. I shot .22s a lot as a kid and I mess around with shotguns every so often. My intent for the use of the Colt is primarily for home defense and SHTF scenarios....however, how often is that going to happen? A secondary use that will get much more of a workload is taking it to the range for practice, practice, practice. I would like to shoot at varying distances with it because while fun, I think the 0-100 range would get boring after awhile. There are times when I would want to stretch her legs a bit. Since this is my first AR, and probably will be my only for at least for another year or two (then I can have two and not worry about this topic!), my dilemma is what to put on there as far as optics.

Originally, I was planning on going with either a EO Tech/Aimpoint RDS/HWS with a magnifier. Considering the Trijicon SRS as well if the new EO Tech GS33 would work with it.

That was my plan until I started doing more ACOG research...that was a mistake