PDA

View Full Version : Need guidance preparing for first trust

byrddawg
07-16-12, 18:39
Hello, I am new to firearms and need help advice on the last details of completing my gun trust. I just bought my first class III item online.

I live in Texas if that matters.

Local dealer handling the transfer says they use a guy locally to do trusts, but cost $700. This sounds high from research I have done online. I am not opposed to paying this, but do not want to pay more than necessary. Guntrust.com (http://www.guntrust.com/?gclid=CK6yn8eln7ECFQKEnQodhUtpXQ) charges $349 and says I will have it in 10mins. I should state that I have absolutely no prior experience with trusts, purchasing firearms online, or dealing with transfer dealers. I do not even know how a trust is structured or what information it needs to retain.

Q1 - Has anyone used Guntrust.com or a similar Site before? Did you feel it met the legal standards?

Q2 - I plan on buying more class III items eventually. Should I take this into consideration now? Could this affect the way it should be set up now? I would much rather spend more money on the trust now if it will make buying other items in the future more pain free as opposed to finding out later that the lawyer just slapped a quicky together for this one gun and needs to charge full price to redo the whole thing to incorporate additional firearms.

I appreciate your advice and anything you might add that you feel will benefit me.

justlikeanyoneelse
07-16-12, 19:29
A fee of 700 USD for a trust is unholy and despicable. I am also in Texas and my trust cost half that.

1- Never used Gun Trust so can not tell you that.

2- One of the main reasons for a trust is to own multiple NFA items and to avoid the whole CLEO, fingerprint etc, so a trust period will allow you to own multiple NFA items in the future.

My advice is see if you can find a reputable lawyer that won't charge an outrageous fee, I am sure someone else can provide a good ref.