PDA

View Full Version : Gas port erosion...

Ridgerunner665
01-24-08, 00:56
I understand what it is and how it occurs...but how much will it erode?

Will it erode enough that springs and buffers wont fix it?
How many rounds before it becomes a problem?
And any other useful info you may have on the subject...:)

I'm new to AR's... I'm trying to learn what to watch out for. Thanks

Robb Jensen
01-24-08, 04:38
I understand what it is and how it occurs...but how much will it erode?

Will it erode enough that springs and buffers wont fix it?
How many rounds before it becomes a problem?
And any other useful info you may have on the subject...:)

I'm new to AR's... I'm trying to learn what to watch out for. Thanks

For 99% of the people out there most of the time you'll wear out the throat of the chamber causing really poor groups (more like patterns) before the gas port is eroded. It can be fixed. I requires drilling out and tapping the gas port and installing a set screw, then drilling a new gas port through the set screw.

Ridgerunner665
01-24-08, 11:43
For 99% of the people out there most of the time you'll wear out the throat of the chamber causing really poor groups (more like patterns) before the gas port is eroded. It can be fixed. I requires drilling out and tapping the gas port and installing a set screw, then drilling a new gas port through the set screw.

Thank You Sir...thats what I wanted to know.... I had searched for it but didn't find it.

scottryan
01-24-08, 17:28

At which time you might be better of buying a new barrel depending on one's situation.

Robb Jensen
01-24-08, 17:37
At which time you might be better of buying a new barrel depending on one's situation.

If the throat erosion is okay but the gas port is too big, then yes for the less skilled armorer/gunsmith a new barrel would be probably the best option.

Ridgerunner665
01-24-08, 18:47