PDA

View Full Version : take down pin removal

cthompson36
07-21-12, 06:50
hey guys, I just built my first AR and I'm new to it. I'm wanting to replace my takedown pins for the easy removal ones, and I was wondering how to best remove them without stuff going flying. I went through 5 getting it together....

5pins
07-21-12, 11:20
Not to sound like an ass but why do you want to replace them?

Hmac
07-21-12, 11:35
The rear takedown pin just required removing buffer tube and end plate. You need a castle nut wrench. I recommend the Hammerhead tool and a good receiver block, especially if the castle nut is staked.

The front pivot pin is harder. You can make it easy with a $15 tool from Brownells, or a $.065 1/4 inch clevis pin from your hardware store.

http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w135/Desert_AIP/Pivot_Pin_Install_03.jpg

cthompson36
07-21-12, 14:30
I want to replace them with the easy take out ones because I am having a harder time taking it down than I should, and my friends AR has the easy takedown ones and its alot easier. Yeah I was pretty sure about the rear one, but that front way is genius. I guess I'm going to the hardware store tomorrow :)

ParanoidCivilian
07-21-12, 14:44
Sack up man. They'll loosen up after a while. Also add a drop of lube on the underside of the take down pins.

Nightvisionary
07-21-12, 14:59
hey guys, I just built my first AR and I'm new to it. I'm wanting to replace my takedown pins for the easy removal ones, and I was wondering how to best remove them without stuff going flying. I went through 5 getting it together....

The standard pins are already easily moveable unless the upper, lower, or takedown pins are out of spec. What brand is your upper and lower receivers? Lube them up and they should get better over a short time. What did you go through "5" of in getting your AR together?

Kodiak
07-21-12, 15:14