PDA

View Full Version : Why do people ask for advice, then go against it?

PaulL
07-25-12, 17:55
If someone has some understanding of psychology that can break this down for me, I'd love to hear it.

I have people that ask for advice on a fairly regular basis. I am generally passing on what I've learned through personal experience or through the experience of an informed community (such as here). I bet fewer than 1% have ever actually done what I suggested they do. Now, I'm not an expert on everything, but I can sure tell you that a Glock is a better choice than a Hi-Point, based on the aforementioned experience. Why, then, do people INSIST on going out and choosing the Hi-Point? Is it some injury to their ego to take advice? Why did they ask in the first place?

I have one now that asked about ARs, and I recommended BCM, Colt, etc. Dude goes out and pays MORE money for a Sig. WTF? Ask my advice on a subject I'm at least marginally well-versed in and then completely throw it out the window.

This is so common that there has to be some sort of well-documented psychological aspect to it.

Sorry for the rant. I'm frustrated. http://i1266.photobucket.com/albums/jj523/paulmlaw/Smilies/a6f9a1b4.gif

Don Robison
07-25-12, 18:19
Because many times they don't actually want advice; they want validation of the decision they've already made.

Hmac
07-25-12, 18:23
Likely has nothing to do with credibility. He found someone else that gave him the advice that he wanted to hear.

Sounds like you're ego is bruised and you've taken it personally. Ya gotta let it go. A big part of my job is giving people advice (doctor). Often they take it, sometimes they don't. You learn to shrug it off.

warpigM-4
07-25-12, 18:32
I have many friends that call with "what about this is cheaper" :rolleyes: I tell them like it is even send them info that states the problems with the Cheaper items:rolleyes: sometimes you just can't fix stupid .