PDA

View Full Version : Critique this idea before I spend the $$$$

paradoc
01-24-08, 20:45
Ok, I have a Bushmaster Patrolman 16 inch A3 that is about to receive a facelift, now here is what I have planned- if there are no faults noted in the plan.

Barrel- replace with CMMG 14.7 w/A2 FH, it's 1/7 twist, MP tested, chrome lined.
BCG- LMT enhanced BC and bolt
Lower parts kit- replace internals with LMT or Colt
CAR stock- aluminum 4 pos from Essential Arms (just like the old school stock).
BUIS- ARMS 40L
EOTECH 551 HWS

The purpose of the carbine is HD and general plinking, but I do plan to use it for carbine classes as well.

Shihan
01-24-08, 20:50
It might be better to just buy another upper or complete carbine and keep that as a spare. With the replacements you want to do a new upper is not much more.

paradoc
01-24-08, 20:56
plan B is a complete CMMG carbine.......tax money is burning a hole in my pocket ;)

IrishDevil
01-24-08, 20:58
For the cost of all that put together, I'd just buy another rifle which is what you're essentially doing minus upper/lower receiver. The "enhanced" LMT bcg is from what I've seen unnecessary, a.k.a. not an improvement. I don't really do folding BUIS, but I'd go Troy personally. CMT is good for a parts kit.

ST911
01-24-08, 21:03
Ok, I have a Bushmaster Patrolman 16 inch A3 that is about to receive a facelift, now here is what I have planned- if there are no faults noted in the plan.

Barrel- replace with CMMG 14.7 w/A2 FH, it's 1/7 twist, MP tested, chrome lined.
BCG- LMT enhanced BC and bolt
Lower parts kit- replace internals with LMT or Colt
CAR stock- aluminum 4 pos from Essential Arms (just like the old school stock).
BUIS- ARMS 40L
EOTECH 551 HWS

The purpose of the carbine is HD and general plinking, but I do plan to use it for carbine classes as well.

I agree with Shihan. Trade for, or buy, a complete LMT, 6920, or N4.

Part by part on your list: