PDA

View Full Version : Is XCR style bolt catch and FAL style charging handle possible to be used on AR15?

teengunlover
07-26-12, 01:24
These days one of my friend claims that he had a new design of AR lower which allowed XCR/ACR style bolt catch operation, is it possible? It seemed that there's no enough room for XCR style bolt release to be placed since the mag catch is in the way. Then He said that he also got a new design of some sort of monolithic upper with FAL style charging handle and will also allow using traditional ar charging handle, I know that some ARs are dual-charger(JP, ADCOR.....), but is it possible to use FAL style charger which combined with forward assist?
I'm not an AR expert, so I place my question here. Below is the only two pics he gave me, I'll try to get more information(pics) as soon as possible. If this thread violate any rules of the forum please forgive me since I really don't know where to place it.

Todd00000
07-26-12, 07:23
So I have something similar to an AR but different enought that I have to retrain myself. No thanks.

DMR
07-26-12, 07:31
First Alex will likely sue him for the bolt release. Rock River was one of the named parties in his suit for thier use of the same concept on the LAR-8 series. I suppose I can see his side of the issue, but the basic concept has is used on the FAL is old.

Grizzily already produces a side charger LAR upper for the AR. So again not a new concept. LWRC also makes them for the RPER.

That said good luck.

sinlessorrow
07-26-12, 07:54
Its interesting but I dont see the point.

1. Bolt release. The bolt release on the ar-15 is in a great spot, its easy to hit when inserting a new mag as either a lefty or a right handed user.

2. CH. now maybe im in the minority here, but i prefer the location of the AR CH over any other. Its in a location that allows it to be virtually snag free, its non recip, and has no chance of intefering with any items on the rifle.