PDA

View Full Version : Issues with new AR10 build

graydog1
08-04-12, 20:38
Good day all
I have an AR10 build with all new parts DPMS lower, upper, LPK and BCG, YHM railed gas block, free float rail and flash hider, Rainier 16inch chrome lined heavy barrel, slash heavy buffer with modified spring, Magpul commercial ACS stock, Bravo co bolt upgrade kit. Using DPMS C-Products and Magpul magazines with Winchester USA and PMC factory ammo.
Problem is that the damn rifle MUST be almost dripping with lube to run right. If my BCG isn;t sloppy wet I get FTE stoppages after almost every round. Went to the range and the well lubed beast ripped off two magazines no issues. let it sit for a couple hours while doing some bolt gun work then the jam-o-matic returned. Any suggestions besides the obvious??
:help::help:

High Tower
08-04-12, 21:52
What mags are you using? That might be a problem.

The bolt might be a problem too.

I have no experience with Ranier, but the gas port might be too big? Port not lined up with gas block?

Or buffer might not be right for the build.

Those are the things that come to my mind. Or ammo.

graydog1
08-04-12, 22:03
Runs fine with all magazine and ammo combos when well lubed, otherwise it's extraction/ejection issues. Only about 400 rounds thru this rifle so far

matemike
08-04-12, 22:20
Not positive on how a 7.62 bolt works, but if it's like a 5.56, check the extractor spring. Maybe add a rubber spring insert or rubber o-ring over the extractor spring.

Is the bolt locking back on every last round fired? I ask so you could rule out short or slow stroking.

High Tower
08-04-12, 22:30
Runs fine with all magazine and ammo combos when well lubed, otherwise it's extraction/ejection issues. Only about 400 rounds thru this rifle so far

Gotcha. Honestly, I would buy a new bolt or entire bcg from LMT.

Edit to add: I would suggest doing this regardless. Also, try some hotter ammo.

Suwannee Tim
08-05-12, 07:26