PDA

View Full Version : upgrade help

tk390
08-08-12, 12:32
Ok I am new to the AR world, and I have a few questions. I recently purchased a Stag Arms Model 2, and have several questions. I recognize through a lot of post that Stag is not a Colt, BCM or LMT. I am in law enforcement however my department does not purchase patrol riffles, however I am trying to change this. The primary reason I own the AR is because I want one. It is my range gun and “fun gun”. The secondary reason is defense first at home and possibly on the street. The primary reason I bought a Stag was the price (I have a friend who is a dealer and I paid a little over $700 before tax and title).
I would like to get into some tactical competitions, and possibly use this as a duty weapon once approved. While I’m not going into battle with this weapon every day, on duty, I may. The tacticool features are not the important feature for me, solid bullet proof performance is.
Here are my question:
1. What upgrades can/should I make to make this weapon a more reliable solid performer. Please remember just buy a BCM (or favorite maker of choice) is not an option, any upgrades will be done on my budget and my timeframe.
2. What Parts on the Model 2 are mil-spec?
Any education will be greatly appreciated.
Tk390

Aaron_B
08-08-12, 12:43
Here is a good palce to start out. Read up and you are sure to come out with some good info.

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=7376

rjacobs
08-08-12, 12:52
Ill make the post most people are or will be thinking.

Sell it and get your $700 out of it(or possibly more) and add $250 to that $700 and get a Colt 6920. Then you have to change nothing short of adding a sling and some type of an optic.

To bring the Stag up to spec would IMO probably require more than the $250 price difference and you still wouldnt have as good of a gun.

svtpwnz
08-08-12, 13:25
Ill make the post most people are or will be thinking.