PDA

View Full Version : dumb Glock question

roar
08-14-12, 10:54
Long story short I was an idiot and used the wrong tool for stripping the slide on my new G19 that I bought, which ended up slipping and scratching the metal above the striker channel. I should have known better, given that I have stripped the slides on my other Glocks the proper way countless times before.

I questioned whether this small scratch could end up being a stress riser and turn into a crack given enough time and shots fired, and was told that it was nothing to worry about, as "metal does not work this way" or "this not how cracks form."

These comments were never expanded upon, so I am hoping either an armorer or someone with greater metallurgical knowledge than I could explain to me these comments.

Here is a link to an album with pictures of the scratch (the darker one on the left).

http://imgur.com/a/pnCCm

captdreifus
08-14-12, 11:35
I'm not an expert, but it looks like a cosmetic scratch. Duty weapons get hell of a lot more scratched than that. I wouldn't worry too much.

okie john
08-14-12, 11:37
I seriously doubt that would ever be a problem. Go forth and shoot.

Okie John

roar
08-14-12, 11:39
I know that guns get scratched all the time and its completely fine. If I got scratches or other marks on the outside of the slide I wouldn't care one bit. The location of this scratch on top of the thin metal covering the striker channel just made me go "hmmm."

Wondering if anyone had any thoughts on whether recoil could ever make this scratch turn into something worse.

greatnw
08-14-12, 13:01
I know that guns get scratched all the time and its completely fine. If I got scratches or other marks on the outside of the slide I wouldn't care one bit. The location of this scratch on top of the thin metal covering the striker channel just made me go "hmmm."

Wondering if anyone had any thoughts on whether recoil could ever make this scratch turn into something worse.