PDA

View Full Version : M&P9c question

Aranjuez
08-19-12, 19:56
This is directed towards Grant & other knowledgeable forum members.

I just bought a S&W 9mm compact. I am not an experienced shooter - this is not my first pistol, but it is my only pistol.

I need a weapon for defense & do not want to ship this pistol out for custom work.

My question: do the M&P 9 compacts exhibit the same accuracy issues as the full size models? The reports are very conflicting.

I shot 115 rounds today with pretty much 0 ability to hold a group from 7 to 10 yards. I have little experience behind a trigger and my shooting fundamentals are lacking - I do not expect to be an accurate shooter, but I do want a gun that is capable of the sort of accuracy expectations you might have for a pistol in this class.

I will rent a 3rd gen glock 26 next time I go to the range to compare my shooting between the two guns. I just want to know if the widespread accuracy issues are reported in all S&W 9mms, or if the compacts are known to have no issues.

I will be a very happy man to know that the surprising inaccuracy is on my end, and that I can expect to shoot good groups (considering the class of firearm) with improvements to my shooting fundamentals. I will be a less-than-happy man if you tell me to go trade this pistol in for a Glock or Springfield - but willing. :)

Thanks.

edit: This is a brand new 9mm compact with an 03/06/12 date on the fired casing package.

mkmckinley
08-19-12, 20:08
My M&P9c is a little tackdriver, especially when I shoot with the Apex DCAEK installed. Get a nice set of night sights, a good holster and belt and you're GTG.

I like the Ameriglo Pro Glo night sights and the Bladetech Nano holster.

RCI1911
08-19-12, 20:38