PDA

View Full Version : Win M70 Extreme Weather vs Rem Mountain

Watrdawg
08-20-12, 10:02
I'm comparing rifles and looking to purchase another 7mm 08 caliber rifle. I've had a lot of experience with various Rem Mtn rifles and love that style of rifle. I haven't had one in a while though. Remington is now doing the Mtn rifle in stainless and a B&C stock. I really like the looks of it. The bad part is they will not be manufacturing this rifle in 7mm 08 until late fall which means delivery to LGS's until late Nov. early Dec. I've been looking at the Win. M70 Extreme Weather in 7mm 08 and this rifle is almost the same as Rem's Mtn rifle. Big difference is that they are available now.

Does anyone have any experience with this model, whatever caliber, if so what kind of accuracy standards have you seen. What are the overall impressions of the Winchester.

RyanB
08-20-12, 11:27
The new Winchesters are the best ever made. Meanwhile since the buyout Remington's trend downward. Easy call. The Model 70 by a mile.

ICANHITHIMMAN
08-20-12, 16:38
The new Winchesters are the best ever made. Meanwhile since the buyout Remington's trend downward. Easy call. The Model 70 by a mile.

Well said

nineteenkilo
08-21-12, 12:45
Yeah, the Model 70 gets my nod as well. I don't think they've ever been better.

Also, helluva a choice in caliber. The 7-08 is one of the most under appreciated calibers in the hunting world. I put it right up there with the 257 Bob.

Watrdawg
08-21-12, 13:24
7mm 08 is my all time favorite caliber. Great all around performance and very little recoil. I've hunted with it since 1990. Actualy my first rifle in that caliber was a Rem Mtn rifle.

ariesfromhell
08-23-12, 20:55

this.

longball
08-23-12, 22:57