PDA

View Full Version : Bushmaster trouble

gmarr
08-31-06, 19:43
Gentlemen,

I have a problem with my Bushmaster Carbon 15 M4. First off, shoots great. Handles great and is suoer easy for my duty carry (LEO in Miami). I've qualified with it twice and no problems. Sighted in an EOTECH and again, no problems.

Last weekend several of us went to the range to practice. Got off two 20 round mags and the problem started. Fail to feed. I would fire a couple of rounds and get a 'fail to feed'. Charge again, and fire. One or two rounds and another 'fail to feed'. The bolt recoils and stops at the point of picking up a round from the mag.

Stripped everything down, cleaned and oiled, got new ammo, and checked the mags - no visible damage to anything. Tried again and bingo - more 'fail to feed'. Help. I called Bushmaster and spoke to their 'smith. After explaining the situation he couldn't give me an answer.

The 20 round mags are from Bushmaster, the 30 rounder is from Brownells. Ammo was Black Hills and Federal.

Suggestions?

Erick Gelhaus
08-31-06, 20:59
Out of curiousity ... is the carrier key staked? Are the hex head bolts on the carrier actually tight? This seems to be the most frequent issue I encounter of BM weapons.

Erick

Boom
08-31-06, 21:20
Out of curiousity ... is the carrier key staked? Are the hex head bolts on the carrier actually tight? This seems to be the most frequent issue I encounter of BM weapons.

Erick

I agree with Erick. Check your gas key.

John_Wayne777
09-01-06, 08:52
Gentlemen,
The 20 round mags are from Bushmaster, the 30 rounder is from Brownells. Ammo was Black Hills and Federal.

Suggestions?

The first place to look for malfunctions is at the magazine. I bought seven brand new C-Products magazines to go to my Blackwater class in May, and by Wed one magazine had developed a bad habit of failing to feed when I still had 8 or 9 rounds in it.