PDA

View Full Version : Vet court. Opinions

Ghost__1
08-23-12, 12:19
Firstly i am a veteran. I think that its a great idea in theory. However on paper and in my heart I know that when i joined I wasn't asking for special treatment.

I would like to hear the boards thoughts. How does this effect all men are created equal? I realize that we asked members of the military to do some extraordinary things to the enemies of or country and our freedoms so maybe something is owed. I'm torn on it.

If you aren't sure or haven't heard of it here is a link.

http://mobile.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE7082U020110109?irpc=932

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Veterans'_court

Dirk Williams
08-23-12, 12:42
In many instances there are things going on. My friend is a retired Col, who has pointed out that truck drivers, supply clerks etc etc are all exposed to extreme violence daily when deployed.

The will to survive is our most basic skill. I believe these special courts are needed. There are mitigating things going on that need to be reviewed for correct application of justice.

Using my friends rolling his rig as a point, we the people bear the responsibility for his and others similar response to the box in the road.

He acquired that condition defending us. We owe him and all our vets the best we have to offer. I applaud the wisdom and those in my community who had the wisdom and the courage to suggest this vet court.

FYI, one of the men who made this happen is a Judge in this community . He's also a JAG with multiple deployments. He simply saw a need and worked within the system to make it happen.

Unaware of the courts ordering the vets to head doctors for any events.

DW

glocktogo
08-23-12, 13:07