PDA

View Full Version : Colt 6933 for 1st and only AR?

Enoch
08-25-12, 21:00
Hi guys. Yes I'm doing the new guy typical post... sorry. :rolleyes:

I'm sure I could use the search function and eventually discover an opinion, but I have a small child, I work like a dog, and I know you guys are smart and willing to share your experience with a newbie. :)

I'm not new to guns but I'm new to the AR platform. I have several handguns, an AK and a couple milsurps.

I've convinced myself that I need an AR ( I really just want one), for the fun of shooting carbine classes and SHTF situations. It seems to me that an SBR has a lot of advantages for urban warfare and does not give up a lot of accuracy for 100 yd type shoots. I was originally planning on a build, but then I found the Colt 6933.

Seems like I'd save little with a custom build, but have the warranty and customer service of a Colt if I went this route.

That being said, there seems to be some credible discourse about the reliability of a carbine vs a mid-length or full-length gas system. Being an SBR, the Colt 6933 just exacerbates the issues concerning the carbine gas system.

I really have no opinion because I am so new but I would appreciate opinions. I guess this is a discussion about tactical advantages of an SBR vs the mechanical reliabilty of a longer gas system.

JoshNC
08-25-12, 23:06
Colt 6933 is exceptionally reliable. Buy it, you will be glad you did.

Magic_Salad0892
08-25-12, 23:23
The Colt Commando is a fine simple rifle.

However, if you plan to deck it out with aftermarket stuff, consider the KAC 11.5'' SBR. It already comes with everything you could possibly want.

Enough about that.

A SBR nowadays can be made to be as reliable as a full size 20'' rifle.

I run SBRs exclusively and have helped friends get theirs running, and have learned a few things along the way.

- VLTOR A5 system will help you smooth things out. Usually heavier buffers do, but that system especially.