PDA

View Full Version : My first AR, ColtLE6920MP-B

fuzzynutkila
08-25-12, 21:03
I have been doing a lot of research over the last month and to make a long story short, I decided to purchase the Colt LE6920 MOE edition.. It was that or the M&P 15 MOEMid length. I am a newbie to AR's and have rented afew at the range I goto. It was so much fun to shoot even though the DPMS was basically fallling apart from wear and tear. I know I paid way too much for it but being a resident of the crappy state of Maryland, I had limited options. My first thought was to buy from Buds online, like I did for my Mossberg, it was sent to a local FFL dealer and a simple purchase. BTW, for some reason Cheaper than Dirt said they couldn't ship guns to Maryland. This was surprising considered I could goto store around the corner and get the same thing. That being said, Buds said I had to select a model that came with a 20rd clip or less due to the law of nothing over 20rd mags. I called and asked if they could just swap out the 30 for a 20 but they said they can't do it. Given their limited selection of Colts with 20rdmags I had to go another way....Yep, that's right, RETAIL AND BEYOND. Fortunately the local gun stores around here said they could swap out the mag for a 20rd., only catch being the $1350 price tag. I talked the guy down to $1300, still about $300 too much! I could have gotten it for a little less from one store than the other but the other had it in stock which is always a plus. So Ipurchased it and about 3 days later I'm looking at the receipt and it read Colt SP6920.... Well, everything I researched was LE not SP so I immediately looked up the SP to see what the differences were. They are the same rifle, same price at this store and the only difference was the roll mark. The SP had Colt Manufacturing or something like that. The LEsaid Colt Defense. I went back and told them they sold me the wrong one and they switched it out after I had to pay another $10 for police check.