PDA

View Full Version : My First Build - Will everything work?

MrRightWing
08-29-12, 15:04
Hey guys, this is my first AR build and I wanted to post the parts I'm planning on buying to make sure they're going to work well together. I've done my research, but I'm a noob, so I want to make sure I don't screw this whole thing up. The completed rifle will be a 16" mid-length AR. Please let me know if you have had trouble fitting any of these parts, if my prices are off, if I'm missing any parts, or if I won't be able to shoot both .223 and 5.56mm (not sure if this could be a problem or not). Thanks!

Edit:
Removed: YHM Free Float
Added: Troy 13 BattleRail TRX Std

Parts List:
Upper:
BCM Upper w/FA - $99.95
DD Stripped 16" 1:7 barrel - $169.95
Troy 13 BattleRail TRX Std - $152.50
BCM Gunfighter Mod 4 (Medium Latch) - $44.95
Yankee Hill Flash Hider Phantom - $26.99
Mid-length gas tube - $13.00
YHM Low-profile Gas Block - $22.00

Lower:
Stripped lower from local FFL (Spike's or PSA) - $95.00
PSA LPK w/ Magpul STR Stock & Buffer Tube - $149.95
BCM MPI Full Auto BCG - $159.00

(Haven't settled on sights yet)

Guns-up.50
08-29-12, 15:11
yes.... why do you put the prices down?

KingCobra
08-29-12, 15:12
the flash hider comes with a crush washer, so why are you buying another?

MrRightWing
08-29-12, 15:14
the flash hider comes with a crush washer, so why are you buying another?

Good catch, I didn't notice it came with one. Thanks!

ASH556
08-29-12, 15:17
Pick something besides the YHM rail. Heavy and out of spec.

Also your price on the DD barrel looks pretty low. How did you come by it?

There are some pretty good deals on used low-round-count uppers here and on TOS. I'd look there.

MrRightWing
08-29-12, 15:20
Pick something besides the YHM rail. Heavy and out of spec.

There are some pretty good deals on used low-round-count uppers here and on TOS. I'd look there.