PDA

View Full Version : Question about PNW Arms and HAP ammo

ruchik
08-31-12, 13:12
I'm looking at picking up some of PNW Arms' low recoil 185gr .45 ammo to try out for training purposes, as well as some of Wilson Combat's Match 200gr HAP ammo. I'm just starting out on the .45, and find that the regular loads in 230gr are a bit much for me (I'm shooting a Kahr P45, not exactly a heavy gun), so I'm working my way up the ammo power chain, so to speak. I don't have the money to afford a .22 on top of the P45, so I figured I'd just start with what I have. In any case, I saw that their 185gr .45 ammo uses the Zero JHP, and that Wilson uses the HAP JHP round. They don't have the cannelures and folds that regular JHP rounds have. So my question is, if one did use this kind of ammo in a defensive role, how would the bullet behave once it hit the target? Would it just kind of haphazardly split open? Stay in one piece and act like a FMJ?

okie john
08-31-12, 17:20
I'm looking at picking up some of PNW Arms' low recoil 185gr .45 ammo to try out for training purposes, as well as some of Wilson Combat's Match 200gr HAP ammo. I'm just starting out on the .45, and find that the regular loads in 230gr are a bit much for me (I'm shooting a Kahr P45, not exactly a heavy gun), so I'm working my way up the ammo power chain, so to speak. I don't have the money to afford a .22 on top of the P45, so I figured I'd just start with what I have. In any case, I saw that their 185gr .45 ammo uses the Zero JHP, and that Wilson uses the HAP JHP round. They don't have the cannelures and folds that regular JHP rounds have. So my question is, if one did use this kind of ammo in a defensive role, how would the bullet behave once it hit the target? Would it just kind of haphazardly split open? Stay in one piece and act like a FMJ?