PDA

View Full Version : Back into the AR life again

Tang419
09-01-12, 17:40
I had gotten away from it for awhile. During the Obama scare in '08 I sold mine for some healthy profits and hadnt really given any thought to another one. Until I seen this Colt 6920 MPFDE, some call it ugly, but I love it, and what do you know, it followed me home.

I'm still no AR expert, and the only thing I see wrong with it (atleast seems wrong to me), is there is quite a bit of play between the upper and lower, where my Bushy and two M&P's never had it. Doesn't seem to bother accuracy much though, this thing shoots well. With a Tasco 3-9x40 on it for fun, and some 62gr PMC X-Tac's it put 5 shots 0.992" center to center at 100 yds.

Anyway, Ive been told by a couple of people that it is a limited edition, but I don't know if thats true or not. Is there any truth to that ?

This is my first Colt, so I'm pretty excited about it. One thing is for sure, there is no doubting that the carrier key on this one is staked well. I love the Magpul furniture and the PMAG's. With the 1/7 twist barrel, I'm expecting the 75gr TAP ammo to be no issue at all for it.

Split66
09-01-12, 17:49
No worries about the play.

No word I've seen on them limiting the run for the FDE or OD anodized weapons. Looks like Colt is going in the direction of color anodizing with their modular weapon system too, so they may offer it for a while or add other colors/camo patterns to the lineup.

Iraqgunz
09-01-12, 20:22
Play between the upper and lower means absolutely nothing. As for the Bushy and M&P. They have bigger things to worry about other than just a little play.

Safetyhit
09-01-12, 20:29
Almost makes you wonder when someone will come out with a solid copper lower just because they can.

Tang419
09-01-12, 21:32
I think the one I have, is a love it or hate it gun. But either way, I did not go wrong with the Colt right ?

Colt guy
09-01-12, 21:36
I like them in fact I have a couple in the safe.

Tang419