PDA

View Full Version : My day with black ops rifles.

BigJoe
09-05-12, 21:30
I have been talking to Mike on and off for a couple years now. My experience with him has been extremely positive. If you don't know who Mike Bush is and his Black Ops (formerly Underground Skunkworks) you need to find out.

Mike flew in from Montana for the day with some friends of his bringing with him his new 40x 22lr repeater, a 19" 308 and 20" 300wm. I brought some friends to a local private range and we made a day of it.

First of all mike is a complete professional presents himself really well, super friendly, and fit in perfectly with the small crowd i brought out. We got to the dirty stuff and verifying zero's and moving back.

the 22lr 40x is amazing, one of the most enjoyable guns I've ever had the opportunity to shoot. Definitely the best "trainer" I've seen. The magazine is really easy to use and it feeds awesome. You will see a trend in this post, the attention to detail Mike puts in his builds is AMAZING! You will be hard pressed to find a single flaw in the bedding or fine finish in a single rifle coming out of his shop i am sure. I have a cz453 in a manners and i'm telling you now I'm figuring out how much i can get for a kidney to get a 40x from Mike.

The 308 and 300wm were sister guns, finished just like the 22lr in the same proprietary finish Mike does on all his guns.
http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j300/hardcharger_photos/A95DF4FC-91D2-4FDB-9C0D-4A2A48479BB6-5060-000001E5AA10CABC.jpg
the 20" 300wm was a incredible gun, whatever Mike is doing to his chamber and barrels works. Mike explained he is seeing over 2900fps with military mk248 190grn match out of his 20" barrels. He made a believer out of me as a friend of mine and I put about 8 rounds in under 3" at 700 yards.
http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j300/hardcharger_photos/B630C0CA-B0E8-4D70-B30B-02552EE79595-5060-000001E594DDDAC8.jpg