PDA

View Full Version : Fired my AR yesterday for the first time!

arushus
09-11-12, 07:53
I ran 120 rounds through my first AR-15/M4 yesterday. It is a Spike's tactical lower, with a JT Distributing upper, magpul 30rd mags. Anyway, it ran completely flawless! I was excited, I was really expecting some sort of minor issue, like needing to use the forward assist...but no problems materialized. Brass ejected five or six feet to the right between 2:30 and 3:30. I'd just gotten a MBUS installed that I'd been waiting for before I took it out and zeroed both it and my optic. Right away the elevation was fine, not that I could have adjusted it anyway, being as I have an A2 style front sight, and the MBUS has no elevation adjustments. The windage needed slight adjustment to the left, and that was all, it was dead on. So I just sighted my red dot by adjusting it till it sat on top of the front post as I looked through the rear sight, I guess this is called co-witness? Forgive me, Im new to the black rifle world.
Right now Im just using a cheap UTG red/green dot scope. I just wanted the cheapest thing possible to learn on while I save up for a decent optic like an Aimpoint PRO, or maybe something from Vortex. Still no decision there yet, it will depend on all of your recommendations, and what I learn between now and then...
I just had to share my good experience, and as I get farther into this, and learn a little more, I have intentions to replace my upper, probably with a BCM M4 mid-length upper. And, when Im rich, Ill spend three or four grand on a LaRue OBR!!! Haha

markm
09-11-12, 07:55
Facebook!

arushus
09-11-12, 07:57
Facebook!

Thank you for your unique and invaluable input...:confused:

jklaughrey
09-11-12, 08:05