PDA

View Full Version : Will a steel guide rod in a Glock cause extra stress on the barrel lugs?

Magic_Salad0892
09-13-12, 06:19
Or will the nitride treatment make the metal hard enough (harder than the guide rod metal) for that not to be an issue?

Would it be worse with an SS (non nitride) and SS guide rod like some dudes are running?

http://www.realguns.com/archives/146.htm

I asked because the author of the above article had a barrel lug bust, and he was using an SS guide rod, and metal frame. (On a Glock. Wtf?)

Straight Shooter
09-13-12, 07:44
Ive been running one on my G21 since 2006, no problems.

Littlelebowski
09-13-12, 07:47
Overthinking. Leave the stock one in and dry fire more.

JonInWA
09-13-12, 08:07
The only stress a replacement guide rod will cause is to your wallet. Unless your really have a specific need to tune a cartridge load to your specific pistol via fiddling with recoil springs (and concurrently really know what you're doing, and why) stick with the OEM captured recoil spring assembly. The ones that Glock has been using for the past several years have been made with Zytel, which is significantly stiffer and more heat (and chip)-resistant that the previous ones used.

Best, Jon

C4IGrant
09-13-12, 08:30
I cannot answer the OP's question, but some food for thought.

At the last Glock Armorers class, it was advised (on a GEN 3 gun) to change the recoil assembly every 2-3K. On the S&W M&P (and most every other gun on the market with a metal recoil assembly) it is 5K.

I am kind of the opinion that the plastic recoil assembly is not as effective as a steel one (and is why Glock keeps lowering the replacement numbers from NEVER to 10k, 5-7K, 2-3K).

For the record, I have always run either the ISMI recoil assembly or some other metal recoil assembly with never a problem.