PDA

View Full Version : Dealing with Apathy?

crusader377
09-19-12, 08:41
First off, I enjoy sharing ideas with others on the GD forum. Although many of us may have differences in opinion, I think most of us would agree that the United States has alot of challenges that we have to face if we are going to remain a great nation.

That said, I think perhaps the biggest hurdle that as a nation we face is the apathy of a least 90% of the population. I'm a combat veteran in my mid 30s and generally run in a well educated, professional social circles and it still blows my mind on the complete cluelessness of most people about the multitude of issues facing this country. Alot of times if you talk about any serious issue to someone other than a like minded friends or family members, people look at you like you have a dick growing out of your forehead. Most people my age and younger are either more focused on sports, reality tv, boasting their egos on facebook, etc...

My question is how does one reach apathetic people and get them interested and wanting to seek knowledge about the challenges that we face? Then once they gain the knowledge, how to encourage people to become more involved?

VooDoo6Actual
09-19-12, 10:05
Copy you Lima Charlie.

One at a time mentor/lead/educate/show/demonstrate/point them to information as best you can down/towards the path. Careful not to prostelytize them. Give them the data or direct them to it.

Unfortunately, people interpret/process data differently. Look at the enormity of issues here on GD even though it's a pro-gun & historically a pro constitution forum. When people start to get uncomfortable w/ their distractions of Pro Sports/TV/Cabled media/traveling/food prices/gas prices/economic woes finally come to the epiphany of the deceptions/lies/ real agenda it will get some more traction imo.

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e225/teehee321/photo_zpsecbb8db7.jpg

Voodoo_Man
09-19-12, 11:02