PDA

View Full Version : Removing pined Flash Hider

jwork
02-04-08, 19:33
I have a Bushmaster with a 14.5" barrel w/ "pined and welded AK flash hider". I cant seem to find the pin(s) I have sanded the finish off the flash hiderwith no sign of the pin or signs of a weld. I have a phantom hider to take its place. Im starting to think this rifle may have some other means of ataching the hider. I do not have barrel vice inserts so I have not attempted to loosen the hider. Anyone run into this before?:confused

Remember911
02-04-08, 20:07
It is most likley silver solder. lots of heat and repark.

MikeCLeonard
02-05-08, 12:21
You could always send it to ADCO, they offer Perm. flash hider removal and they are sure to do a professional job and not goof anything up.

markm
02-05-08, 12:49
Yeah. I'd definitely have a pro do this.

As AR15barrels used to post.... the right way to remove is to cut and grind off the perm. Hitting a barrel with a bunch of extreme heat is unacceptable for a professional removal.

jwork
02-05-08, 22:44
I have been told that the pin is on the bottom and tp put some cold blue on it and the weld will show. Well I have done just that and nothing. I hate to put the heat to the barrel so I will am taking it to a friend/gunsmith who has done this work several times and have him remove it. Im wondering now if the barrel is even threaded or if this is a slip on FH. I bought the gun new in 2000 and love the way it shoots. I have had no problems from this gun so I want to keep it, just upgrade a little. Thanks for all the replies and help.

Abull
02-08-08, 16:35