PDA

View Full Version : I need help. I can't shoot at 25 yards. *update, pg. 2*

samuse
09-30-12, 21:20
I'm getting frustrated with my handgun shooting.

I've been shooting semi-autos for over 10 years, most of my time is on 9mm Glocks. I love 'em. They're light, they're reliable, they're cheap and I have everything I need to carry, compete, train and fix 'em.

I'm not thinking about a different gun, I need to fix myself. I've sold off all my unnecessary guns and gear and bought about 20K rounds of 9mm ammo so I'm freekin' ready to get this right.

I've been through Tigerswan, Redback One, Sheepdog Solutions and a few other classes (always one of the better shooters at class) and have shot competitively for about 5 years. I'm a decent hand with a Glock 17 or 19, my match accuracy is fine.

BUT. I like to shoot 25 yard bullseye targets (slow fire) to evaluate myself and I can't get a good group to save my life. This has been bugging me for awhile because I can't pin it down.

Pistol: Glock 17RTF2, all stock with DeFoor sights.
Ammo: 115 grain S&B (today, but I get the same results with everything)

I shoot for groups standing, pretty much isosceles, high thumbs forward, focus on the front sight, pull through the take-up, hit the wall, keep squeezing, burn a hole in the front sight and still wind up with 2 or three fliers that open my group to 10"-12". The fliers are not consistent in their location on the target (one low, one right, one high... wherever).

I shoot horribly from a rest and if I just get irritated and blow 10 rounds at the target in 6 or 7 seconds, my groups really don't open up much.

I'm about ready to order a super-badass trigger kit to throw in the Glock, but that's a real solution because I shoot high-end 1911s about the same.

Advice?

Failure2Stop
09-30-12, 21:31
At what distance do you see these fliers begin?
What shot are they in the string?

I wasn't tracking on this comment: