PDA

View Full Version : Questions on SBR build

PRTrooper
10-06-12, 13:28
Must I have a tax stamp before acquiring a less than 16" barreled upper receiver? I have an opportunity to purchase a 12.5" barreled upper NOW in a private sale. I already have several AR-15's in the safe but don't yet have an SBR-dedicated lower. If I am reading the ATF regs correctly I cannot legally acquire this 12.5" upper without first having a tax stamp. Sorry if I'm a NEWB at this SBR stuff but I don't want to pass up the sale if it's legal for me to get it now. Thanks in advance :)

Hmac
10-06-12, 13:54
You can acquire an SBR upper without any paperwork or legality concerns, but if you don't have an SBR-registered lower then it's theoretically illegal for you to possess it. What constitutes "possession" or "constructive intent" is a kind of a muddled area, but some might say that owning it is fine, just keep it with a friend or relative somewhere unrelated to the location of your other rifles. And don't post any more about it on the internet.

Breadman
10-06-12, 14:26
You can acquire an SBR upper without any paperwork or legality concerns, but if you don't have an SBR-registered lower then it's theoretically illegal for you to possess it. What constitutes "possession" or "constructive intent" is a kind of a muddled area, but some might say that owning it is fine, just keep it with a friend or relative somewhere unrelated to the location of your other rifles. And don't post any more about it on the internet.

Well said.

Evil Bert
10-06-12, 17:24
only if you do not have a non-registered lower receiver. if you have a non-registered lower and you purchase the SBR upper then it would be illegal. However -- You can purchase it and store it at a friend's or relative's house until you get a registered lower. As long as you do not have both the SBR upper and the non-registered lower under your control at the same time, then you will be fine.

oef24
10-06-12, 23:29