PDA

View Full Version : Inherented a Winchester Model 24 Need Help

Brian Brazier
10-10-12, 23:34
Dad gave me a Winchester Model 24 from 1940 that hasn't been cleaned in a longtime, does anyone know how to take this side by side apart?

M4Fundi
10-11-12, 01:17
Take down or complete disassembly?

I have a Winchester Mod 21 and I believe the take down is the same. Disassembly is for a VERY qualified gunsmith knowledgeable on Winchester SxS shotguns (unless your a gutsy DIY type).

Brian Brazier
10-11-12, 10:44
Takedown, I need to get the barrels off so I can clean everything, but I am not sure how the come off.

M4C
10-19-12, 20:01
First let me say that I have ZERO experience with a Winchester 24, but a great many single- and double-barreled break-action shotguns take down by removing the forend wood. Sometimes the forend is held on by a lever/latch around the center of its bottom side, sometimes by a single screw at that location, and sometimes just by spring tension from a small latch completely hidden by the wood. With the hidden spring tension latch, just pull down on the front of the forend and it will snap right off. Once the forend is off, just break open the gun as if to reload and the two halves should separate at the hinge.

Good luck.

Brian Brazier
10-19-12, 21:16
Thanks for the reply, I got it apart finally, the forend wood is held on with a spring latch, I found that out the hard way when I unscrewed the wood, which was a pain to get back on. Got her all cleaned up and went to put it back together and noticed the release latch isnt working correctly, so my gunsmith has it. He assured me it just needs some minor adjustment, fix a small crack in the forearm, and make sure its still safe to shoot. If everything is gtg, I am gonna go skeet shooting for the first time in 15yrs, I use to go with my Dad every weekend, I dont remember why we stopped going, maybe we can make that a weekly event again.

M4C
10-20-12, 00:48