PDA

View Full Version : Weighing PPQ vs M&P9

milosz
10-15-12, 16:51
Down to one centerfire semi-auto, a Talon II in 9mm - feel the need to add something with more than 10-round capacity.

I have some experience with the M&P9 but it was pre-Apex parts - I wound up selling it because the weak trigger reset was so annoying. The ergonomics, though, were absolutely fantastic.

So I'm now weighing a G&R kitted out M&P9 (fitted barrel, DCAEK, sights) vs. a PPQ w/ Dawson Precision sights. Price difference is ~$200, all told, I'm just going to call it small enough to not matter to me.

M&P9 - whole lotta aftermarket parts installed, which makes sending it in for warranty service a little more questionable if I needed to, but it seems like it should shoot tight groups and run well straight out of the box

PPQ - less aftermarket support (but holsters/etc. are more available now), apparently S&W warranty support is slow now but Walther will take over directly next year, but word is that the trigger is excellent right out of the box. As I recall, paddle mag release works well for me.

Uses will be indoor range shooting, hopefully some IDPA and if I can get the chance, a class or two in 2013.

High Tower
10-15-12, 18:03
Can't go wrong with either one. Try to find a place to shoot both and base your decision on that.

Apricotshot
10-15-12, 18:12
Considering what a pot luck the M&P seems to be, I'd try the PPQ. Sights and aftermarket is pretty slim with the Walther though.

Magic_Salad0892
10-15-12, 18:16
PPQ with Dawson sights.

ralph
10-15-12, 18:40
Well, I tried both..( M&P9, PPQ) I still have the PPQ...

avengd7x
10-15-12, 21:17
Considering what a pot luck the M&P seems to be, I'd try the PPQ. Sights and aftermarket is pretty slim with the Walther though.

what potluck? I think he said he's getting the storm lake barrel which is more accurate than the stock PPQ barrel.

both the m&p and PPQ have been reliable for me (No problems at all) so that's a draw.