PDA

View Full Version : Mounting a EO Tech?

Tim775
02-09-08, 22:18
Thinking about getting an EO Tech for my new LMT. Do I need purchase a seperate mount in order to raise it above FSB or will it work with my flatop as is? Thanks for your advice.

tiger seven
02-09-08, 23:40
It will work mounted directly on the receiver, but I prefer a QD mount - LaRue to be specific. I find it more comfortable (and faster) with the sight raised just a bit, I like having the QD capability, and I like the lower 1/3 co-witness better.

It's really just a personal preference sort of thing, as plenty of people run their EOTechs right on the rail. There's some more info here:

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=9446

Derek

Tim775
02-10-08, 00:02
Thanks for your reply Tiger 7. I really hate to sound dumb, but since I am new to this and want to learn more, could you explain the meaning of co-witness.

tiger seven
02-10-08, 01:02
No problem. "Co-witness" refers to being able to see your iron sights through the optical sight. It basically means that if your EOTech malfunctions or the batteries die, you can transition to your iron sights without having to remove the EOTech.

With the EOTech mounted directly to the rail, the rear sight, red dot and front sight are usually directly in line. This means that if you look through the aperture of your rear sight, the center dot of the EOTech reticle will be just at the top of the front sight post. This is often referred to as "absolute co-witness." With a mount like the LaRue, the EOTech is raised just enough that the reticle will be above the front sight post, and the iron sights will be in the lower 1/3 of the "window" of the EOTech instead of directly in the center.

I hope that makes some sense, as I'm not the best at explaining this kind of stuff. Both systems work. It's really up to the individual to determine which works best for them.

Derek

Tim775
02-10-08, 01:16
Thanks again Tiger Seven.