PDA

View Full Version : Trigger/hammer pin ???

pmedic920
10-24-12, 19:42
I was looking at the AR picture thread and noticed something very common on a lot of the weapons. I am new to both the AR and this forum, so please be kind. I did use the search button prior to asking. I noticed that many of you have what appear to me, to a type of lock or securing device on your trigger/hammer pins. I understand that on some weapons, or trigger groups that the pins may walk or move. My only AR so far is a LE6920 socom. I love this thing. After 1000 rounds and a lot of reading, i installed a Geissele SSA-e. Money well spent (imho). 500 rounds post trigger upgrade and i have noticed Zero trigger/hammer pin movement. My questions are.... Is the little bar that i see connecting the hammer and trigger pins a securing device/lock? If so is this something only on select fire weapons? Are some manufactures more prone to pin movement than others? Is this a fairly cheap insurance item that all ARs should have in place. If so who makes and sells them? I sure hope im close on this, if not, when yall are done laughing please enlighten me. Thanks for your time.

lethal dose
10-24-12, 19:44
You are correct. They secure the fcg pins. They are not needed 99% of the time. Press on without them.

jet66
10-24-12, 19:48
My questions are.... Is the little bar that i see connecting the hammer and trigger pins a securing device/lock? If so is this something only on select fire weapons? Are some manufactures more prone to pin movement than others? Is this a fairly cheap insurance item that all ARs should have in place. If so who makes and sells them? I sure hope im close on this, if not, when yall are done laughing please enlighten me. Thanks for your time.