PDA

View Full Version : recoil spring

m700m
02-11-08, 16:50
i have a colt combat commander, my recoil ''?'' is,:confused: i purchased some 230 gr +p ammo. i don't have more than a 100 round count. so should i leave the standard recoil spring alone, or change to a 20lb spring? i am not running a shock buff. Don.......

bspring
02-13-08, 13:19
If you were to put a constant diet of +P+ down the pipe, a 18 to 20 lbs recoil spring would be advisable. I have read positive things about shock buffers, some do short stroke slide movement 1/8 to 1/4", which may cause cycling issues.

Bill

John_Wayne777
02-13-08, 15:20
i have a colt combat commander, my recoil ''?'' is,:confused: i purchased some 230 gr +p ammo. i don't have more than a 100 round count. so should i leave the standard recoil spring alone, or change to a 20lb spring? i am not running a shock buff. Don.......

If you only have 100 rounds through the weapon there's no need to change the spring.

If you are looking at testing and evaluating the effect of new springs, go ahead...just don't carry the weapon for serious purposes until you have all the bugs worked out.

On my full sized 1911 I run a 20 pound spring, but all I shoot is 230 grain or better ammo. I've never had an issue.

When you shorten the slide, however, the weapon gets increasingly sensitive to spring tensions.

I'd skip the shock-buffs if I were you. I've found that they can interfere with the function of the slide lock on some pistols. If you keep a good recoil spring in the weapon it should last a lifetime with hardball or the equivalent.

toddackerman
02-13-08, 20:13
Shock Buffs can definitely interfere with operations on the shorter guns. They don't seem to bother the 5" guns.

Robb Jensen
02-13-08, 21:12

For 1911s I recommend new recoil springs every 2K rounds.

m700m
02-14-08, 14:37