PDA

View Full Version : Batch of new m4s in...

ramairthree
10-26-12, 18:19
I have been using the same M4 for the past 7 years.
same EoTech, rail, arms rear sight, stock, etc. (I also seem to have one of the last "smooth" stocks vs the "waffle" stocks.

During that time the only updates have been a new PEQ, and replacing a regular vtac sling with a padded on.

it has been used to enough break lugs off two bolts, and barrel replacement twice.

Issue mags are green followers, some buy their own p mags. (a trial of HK mags was around 05, but did not cut it)

I know others may have already been around the fn m4s and brown mags awhile, but these past two weeks are our first.

One of the new guys with the bad charging handle I am sure was giving me the hurry up and retire look so I can drug deal with the armorer and get dibs on your Colt.

Anyways, new guys are the first to get the batch M4s that are FN instead of Colt. of half a dozen guns, two had out of spec charging handles that had to be swapped out. They were either crooked or too wide and way too much grit and drag. Despite some VERY bubba looking model number and auto markings with the roll marks, all otherwise functioned as expected for new, tight guns.

On the other hand, all new in box green follower mags have been used up and the first batch of brown ass backwards follower mags are now being used. Not finding them to be on par with new green follower mags, ymmv. Fit and reliability issues on a not insignificant portion.

DeltaSierra
10-26-12, 18:20
FN M4s?

I have never, ever even heard of such an animal.

Is there any way you can get a photo....?

ramairthree
10-26-12, 18:27
I should have a pic Sunday. now, it is an oval with what I thought were an f and and n in it. kind of superimposed.

They also have ambi safeties.

DeltaSierra
10-26-12, 18:39
What country are you located in? Are these LE issue, or Mil issue?

Under the Radar
10-26-12, 19:44