PDA

View Full Version : Glock 23 Failure

kris
10-27-12, 15:02
First off, let me say that my thread is not intended to place blame on anything, or anyone other than myself. I am merely hoping to use this as a lesson learned for myself and anyone else for that matter.

I also understand that while posting pictures on the internet asking for help on a something like this will solicit different opinions on the issue. I am merely hoping that some of those out there with extensive knowledge might be able to sprinkle me with some insight on what maybe happened.

A quick history on this handgun. I purchased this Gen 3 (2008 production year) used last November from a local firearms store. While the history is unknown they said they gave it a once over and said it was good to go. Once home I cleaned and looked it over, not seeing any visible problems. Now mind you I am not a expert by any means, but I can tell if something is physically damaged.

Throughout last winter I shot 5,000 rounds during various training sessions using American Eagle 165 target ammo. Towards the end of that 5k I started to have failure to eject problems. Upon closer inspection we noticed the ejector was starting to show signs of wear and figured that was partly the problem. The firing pin safety was also marred to where I figured I would replace it as well. I ordered a factory parts replacement kit for the slide and replaced everything with the new parts, aside from the sights.

From there I shot another 600 rounds without any problems, which would have been early this summer. Through the course of the past few months I have shot an additional 300 rounds of light shooting at a indoor range. Today running some drills I put another 125 rounds through when this happened.

When I fired the casing was still in the chamber and I had to disassemble the slide to remove the casing.

http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q30/kbruington/Glock/DSC00457Medium.jpg