PDA

View Full Version : Q?-Battle Born Rifles mfg in Reno, NV

HKdog
10-27-12, 17:28
There's a local shop in Reno that's begun manufacturing their own AR's. DI and Piston. Their lowers are billet and look good but are pricey compared to some. The shop raves about their AR build quality compared to Colt and others. One thing I noticed is that their gas key/block (on bolt) isn't staked. Shop said it was so well made that it isn't req'd. That struck me as unusual but I'm relatively new to AR's. I'm interested in knowing if anyone has experience with the Battle Born guns, quality, reliability etc.. Other guns I've been considering are the Colt 6920 and BCM Mid. I've included a link. Thanks for the assistance. There's a lot of knowledge and experience on this site and I've been sorting through it one page at a time.

http://www.battlebornusa.com/

http://www.usfirearmsacademy.com/

DeltaSierra
10-27-12, 17:44
I looked at that link, and can't see what they are offering that would attract you.

The 5.56 carbine they offer has a 1in 9 twist barrel, made from who-knows-what grade of steel.

You can get a Colt 6920 for right around $1050 from Grant @ G&R Tactical, so I fail to see why you would even consider a rifle of unknown quality...

10-27-12, 20:43
Just echoing DS; wouldn't touch it.

VIP3R 237
10-27-12, 21:00
I looked at that link, and can't see what they are offering that would attract you.

The 5.56 carbine they offer has a 1in 9 twist barrel, made from who-knows-what grade of steel.

You can get a Colt 6920 for right around $1050 from Grant @ G&R Tactical, so I fail to see why you would even consider a rifle of unknown quality...

Yeah i have to agree with this. besides having a billet lower what do these rifles offer? And there is not a BCG out there that doesn't need staking on the gas keys, that is plain ignorance.

Col_Crocs
10-27-12, 21:20
I would definitely pass... Lack of specs and over-improper-use of the term milspec. Go for known quality, get a Colt.