PDA

View Full Version : Can a novice change the barrel on an AR?

das
11-02-12, 10:50
I would like to maybe switch from a 1:9 twist barrel on my M4 to a 1:7 or 1:8. Can a novice change out the barrel or is it something too difficult for me to attempt? I am by no means a pro on the AR platform really just got started a few years ago. Thank you. Dom

PFran42
11-02-12, 10:55
With the proper tools, you can switch out a barrel in about 5 minutes (standard polymer hand guards). 10-15 minutes depending on what type of quad rail/tube/FF setup you are running.

All of the above assumes that the barrels in question have the same length gas system. Now if you are talking about removing gas blocks, installing new ones, pinning, etc. It can take a bit longer.

Here is a decent video for your reference:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCxa0JJU4Iw

markm
11-02-12, 10:59
How are you limited by your 1/9?

I ask this to make sure you aren't just swapping based on internut gibberish.... I say this because we are getting good results with 77 gr SMKs in a rem 700 5R bolt gun that has a 1/9 twist.

das
11-02-12, 11:00
No I would stick with the same length same profile barrel just different twist. I have MOE hand guards on the one that would get the change so that wouldn't be an issue. Thank you. Dom

PFran42
11-02-12, 11:03
No I would stick with the same length same profile barrel just different twist. I have MOE hand guards on the one that would get the change so that wouldn't be an issue. Thank you. Dom

What you describe, would take no longer than 5-10 minutes (with the proper tools). If you are shooting primarily 55gr rds (which are the least costly and most readily available), I would personally stick with a 1:9 barrel.

das
11-02-12, 11:05
How are you limited by your 1/9?

I ask this to make sure you aren't just swapping based on internut gibberish.... I say this because we are getting good results with 77 gr SMKs in a rem 700 5R bolt gun that has a 1/9 twist.