PDA

View Full Version : Romanian gp 1975 G model ?'s

Dirknar
11-04-12, 19:05
Looking at one of these models and having a hard time finding info. I'm new to AK's.. I know is not a arsenal but its half the cost..

Are they chrome lined barrels?
Is 500$ to much for a nicely used one? They have all seemed to go up in price..

This vs. the M10 from m+m?

Thanks

SPQR476
11-04-12, 19:43
Gp is usually romy parts kit on US receiver, us non-chrome lined bbl. Th M10 is a far better option as a base rifle. You may have to swap out some of the price point add-ons, but it's HFCL bbl, and largely assembled at cugir instead of by an unknown century subcontractor.

M&M runs a tight shop, as well, with good QC.

Dirknar
11-04-12, 19:58
Ah ok, thank you Spq.. I searched some different key words and did end up coming up with some info. It looks like theyare basically the same as a wasr, they were just marked with a G for a guard unit.

II keep looking at that M10. The price point is luring. I wanted one of those yugo m70 b underfolders a while ago but never pulled the trigger on one. Aim surplus had them for 489 for months, now they are gone..

Dirknar
11-04-12, 20:04
The main reason to buy an AK, is to be able to buy cheaper ammo and maybe do more shooting.

maddawg5777
11-04-12, 20:26
My friend had a rommy g. Thing looked like it was ran over on the interstate before they shipped it off. It had a lot of light primer strikes but it did go through 10k in rounds before the rivets holding the front trunion snapped. I'd say the the m10 is a better candidate. I just gambled on an amd built by tgi on a feg receiver. I heard they are made decently for a 450 ak, but we will see on Tuesday.

halmbarte
11-04-12, 20:49
Avoid CAI. They have recently started a policy of 1 year warranty from the time the rifle left their 'factory'. Doesn't matter if it sat a distributor for 18 months, you bought it and it never fired a round. That's now your problem.