PDA

View Full Version : Backpacking question?

SWATcop556
11-05-12, 00:18
So I've picked up backpacking in a big way here over the past year. I'm still new at all of it and I'm moving from bumming my equipment from my buddies to wanting to get my own gear.

I'm big into research and comparisons so what would you guys say is the "m4c" of the backpacking world? I'm not interested in shilling companies. I want quality information.

Also any good magazines I can dive into? I'm not local to many good outdoor retail stores (REI and such) but we do have Gander Mtn. though the prices are MSRP.

If you can't post in GD please feel free to PM me. Also please let me know your background in the area as well just to gauge info but all input is welcome!

SeriousStudent
11-05-12, 00:30
Backpacker and Outside magazines have annual gear guides that are worth reading. Even if you do not agree with the gear they picked, reading their evaluation criteria is worthwhile.

And their websites are not bad.

http://www.backpacker.com/

Just as there are makers on the right side of the chart, there are gear makers that produce quality stuff. I'm a fan of MSR, Mountain Hardwear, Mystery Ranch, and others.

Congrats - if you are a "buy once, cry once" kind of guy, you have just found another expensive hobby. ;)

theblackknight
11-05-12, 00:46
I'll 2nd outside magazine.

My local non big box store has legit people on staff who actually hike trails. http://greatoutdoorprovision.com/main/

One of the guys did the NC Mountains-to-Sea Trail and he was my bestest buddy for footcare advice when I was rucking for some schools and stuff.

SWATcop556
11-05-12, 12:42
I'm definitely a buy once cry once guy. I've got a lot of the clothing and layers just from being an outdoors guy to begin with. I'm looking at packs, stoves, bags, and associated gear with the actual overnighters.

My buddy bought me a Kelty tent for my birthday and I'm borrowing his Mountain Hardware sleeping bag and a REI pack.