PDA

View Full Version : What makes a charging handle a good one?

ComeNTakeIt
11-05-12, 09:25
I see all these different selections of charging handles out there and most folks seem to favor just a few of the companies (BCM & Rainier to name a couple) that make them from what I've seen. So here's my question, whats the difference? Is it personal preferance, the materials, price:quality? I'm just trying to understand the reasoning behind it. Why not stick with stock? For those who assemble their own rifles and make these so called "FrankenCarbines", is it a status thing that they can brag about all the mixed parts?(which I'm sure doestn help the resale value, but who wants to sell it anyways right, especially with this election, we may never be able to buy another gun again anyways) I understand that some handles look a little different meaning some have that badass look and some dont. Some are ambi and some arent. I'm new to the AR community, still havent got one yet and who knows, I may not ever be able to(keepin my fingers crossed). Please enlighten me.
Thanks in advance, Tyler :confused:

jet66
11-05-12, 09:40
I don't know about every type of charging handle out there, but I have a couple of BCM Gunfighters. It's more than just having a different latch, it's the design behind how that latch and charging handle work. The standard latch is designed to be pulled straight back, using both sides. Pulling back on just left side puts undue strain on the standard type, which isn't good for the latch's roll pin nor the CH body. The BCM is designed in such a way that you can pull back on just the latch side, without damaging the body of the handle or the roll pin that holds the latch. This is especially handy when you have an optic that makes the top of the CH harder to get to.

It's definitely not about 'looking cool,' because I'd much rather have the extra $20-$25 a pop in my pocket than look cool. :D

Hmac
11-05-12, 10:02