PDA

View Full Version : Troy Battlerail Bravo Impressions/Review

djmorris
11-05-12, 14:56
Thought I'd share my impressions of one of Troy's newer offerings; the Troy Battlerail Bravo. Seems like it's not too common and not a lot of people have real world experience with it. Troy's website also does not offer much as far as weight and size specifications. I currently do not have any pictures of the rail on my BCM but will likely add some pics a little later. I'm not a professional writer so please excuse any grammar or formatting mistakes.

I stumbled upon the Troy Battlerail Bravo when looking for an alternative to the typical Centurion, DD, and KAC quad rails that are considered the gold standard of quad-rails. I was not interested in running a modular rail/ff tube for this weapon, although I'm a huge fan of the Troy Alpha Rail and other similar modular rails, it's just not what I wanted to do with this particular build. I do not feel that I need to spend $250-$400 for a quad rail, either. I want to attach things, but not too many things. I'm attempting to follow K.I.S.S but also do not want to sacrifice function and there is no denying the added benefit of running a free floating quad-rail on your AR15/M4 platform. The thing is, you can almost do a new build for the price of a brand new Daniel Defense rail. I keep finding myself asking is it really justified to spend hundreds of dollars to attach a flashlight and vertical grip?

I am familiar with most all of the offerings out there for quad-rails. I basically wanted something more affordable, durable, not too heavy, and nothing excess. I am very aware that there is not many solid offerings out there that match this criteria. Either you spend a bundle on the top dogs from DD, Centurion, etc or you go the lesser route with a ridiculously heavy and crappy UTG or Blackhawk rail, which will have more problems than a math book, nevermind the fact that they are not even FF.