PDA

View Full Version : Barnes Precision Machine

Bolverk93
11-07-12, 22:13
I was out shopping for a new rifle today when I came across one made in NC by a company called Barnes Precision Machine. The Patrolman's Carbine 16" midlength. I never heard of them before, but the quality seemed very good and the price was right for it is. $1200ish The salesman who is someone I believe assured me it was in use with some of the SOF around here. Well, I did something I rarely do and I bought it on impulse without researching it. Now I'm concerned I may have made a mistake, and purchased a target oriented rifle instead of a combat weapon. I am no expert, but it does seem very well made. However, I don't want a toy, I want something I can count on. It is very tight and everything is match grade, and that makes me concerned about reliability. Is anyone here familiar with this weapon or have any opinions on it?

Here's the website.
http://www.barnesprecision.com/

AKDoug
11-07-12, 22:27
Another unknown manufacturer with unlisted specs on their website. You bought it so run it hard and let us know how it holds up. Using the search it appears that a couple members here have some of their stuff.

Blowby
11-07-12, 22:29
Well they have a testimonial of real usage posted. Not saying which weapon they are using.

https://www.usamade-ar15parts.com/Articles.asp?ID=240

Stickman
11-08-12, 00:37
You don't post a link to what you bought.... But you could have got a Colt or BCM for that price.

Iraqgunz
11-08-12, 01:03
The bolt carrier group is made from 8620 and not Carpenter 158 (according to their website). I would return it, but of course I am brand snob and whore. :rolleyes:

They are also very vague about what the real specs are. I would try and return it ASAP. Or sell it to some panicker who is desperate for something that looks cool.

Split66
11-08-12, 01:32
but of course I am brand snob and whore. :rolleyes: