PDA

View Full Version : Occlusive dressing use by civilians

JB2000
11-09-12, 13:38
I was at a CERT (Community Emergency Response Team) first aid refresher last week where we reviewed the use of tourniquets and the newer types of bandages. I realized my FAK is a little outdated and that it wouldn't hurt to update it with some OLAES bandages and maybe a few other things.

In looking at the various threads on FAKs, blow out kits, GSW kits and the like there is a fair amount of discussion around occlusive dressings, Nasopharyngeal airways, and cath needles in kits.

My background is Red Cross first aid and CPR training and CERT training which deals with triage and basic first aid. I would like to take the Red Cross Wilderness First Aid class but do not plan to get any more advanced than that.

Based on my level of training I would never try to use a cath needle to do a decompression or try to insert an NA. My question is around occlusive dressings. If you have someone with an obvious "sucking chest wound" where there is clearly air moving through the injury and help is 30 or more minutes out, should an occlusive dressing be applied? It seems the potential complications are much more than putting pressure on a bleeding wound.

Thanks.

nineteenkilo
11-09-12, 13:55
It really depends on the exact scenario. Could you be a little more specific about the scenario to which you are referring?

JB2000
11-09-12, 14:58
Sure. And let me know if I leave out something important.

The most likely scenario - and I wouldn't consider these very likely in the first place - is out shooting with friends or my son's scout troop. We usually end up out a forest service road in the mountains with no cell phone coverage. The scenario would be someone gets careless and shoots someone else with a high velocity rifle round in the chest causing a wound large enough to create a defect in the chest wall that allows free flow of air into the chest and undetermined internal injuries.