PDA

View Full Version : Introducing myself and have a question

AR Newby AZ
11-12-12, 18:34
I'm new to the rifle world and I have been researching all options for my new AR. I have my heart set on the PSA MOE carbine. I went from DPMS to double star to bushmaster and now I'm stuck on the PSA. My use for this rifle is plinking and varmint hunting mainly coyotes.

I'm not sure if I should get the carbine or for a little more money get the 12" Midwest Industries SSG2 Free Float Rail? I won't be puting on a scope just an eotech with the 4x magnifier. I couldn't imagine shooting anything further than 300 yards.

P2000
11-12-12, 19:57
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=98378

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=113242&page=3

Why PSA? I would read and search this site some more before forking over your hard earned money.

AR Newby AZ
11-12-12, 21:18
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=98378

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=113242&page=3

Why PSA? I would read and search this site some more before forking over your hard earned money.

The affordability and quality that I've read about them is what sold me. Also, the 1:7 twist is a nice bonus. Yes, I've read those threads and something that's happened 5 years ago doesn't bother me. Companies mess up and people have bad experiences and I can't let that deter me away from buying a product.

Iraqgunz
11-13-12, 00:59
Apparently you aren't reading the same thing we are. It's not just something that happened 5 years ago.

Oversized gas ports, selling BCG's that may or may not have been HP/MPI tested and checked are just a few things.

The problem is like many right now is that you procrastinated in buying an AR and now because Barry was re-elected you are in panic mode and are afraid of some looming AWB.

You could easily wait a month or two and get a Colt or BCM. I have seen Colts ass low as 999.00 and I have a local FFL that could probably get you one for 1100.00.