PDA

View Full Version : New to ARs

nick529
02-15-08, 13:11
Im fairly new to firearms in general and brand new to rifles. Only rifle I own is a marlin 22. I'm purchasing a colt 6920 in a few weeks and I know literaly nothing other then what I've been reading on this site for the last week or so.

A few questions I have:
Is the colt 6920 a good weapon to start out with, I have the money and I dont feel like buying something where parts are breaking etc.

Are there any accessories or new parts that I will need immediatley and are neseccary for general range shooting?

I'm having trouble finding information on ARs, does any one know of a site or book I can buy that is kind of a guide for newbies to ARs

johnson601
02-15-08, 13:19
The 6920 is a great choice..
As far as info goes this site is the best to educate yourself on everything you need to know. good luck

m700m
02-15-08, 13:47
+1 "6920" ''m4carbine.net'':)

Safetyhit
02-15-08, 13:52
Most here will tell you that the 6920 is the best civilian AR-15 one can own. I have one and would not disagree by any means, though my others (Colt and Bushmaster) are also great. You don't need anything right away. You could add an optic and rails for a light soon, but you don't need them immediately unless perhaps it is for work or something.

And welcome aboard.

babaracus
02-15-08, 14:02
Welcome nick529!

It would be a very good idea to read through all the posts and links in the two "stickied" Knowledge Base threads listed below. You will find them at the top of AR General Discussion Forum (https://www.m4carbine.net/forumdisplay.php?f=3) and AR Technical Discussion Forum (https://www.m4carbine.net/forumdisplay.php?f=4). They will provide you with a good start and some basic knowledge.

Knowledge Base Threads (https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=7355)

AR Technical Discussion FAQ/Knowledge Base Threads (https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=7009)

Good luck!

Paladin4415
02-15-08, 18:05